Reviews

8.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
7.9
Property location
8.9
Facilities
8.1
Staff
8.8
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Pia
    at

    Review score

    7.5
    18 April 2018
    The walls of the room are made of rice paper so don't expect any privacy. Although you have you own room it feels like you are in one room with everybody as you can hear their every move. If you have considerate neighbours it is kind of ok but the first two nights we had horrible neighbours shouting till late night and doing their spanking games (maybe interesting for someone who likes to listen to this kinda stuff...).
    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room bigger than the usual hotel room in Japan. Amazing location right in the center! Lot of restaurants and shops close by.
    Zhi Yan Si
    my

    Review score

    7.1
    15 April 2018

    A taste of traditional Japanese house

    It's a traditional Japanese house so you can hear clearly the conversation from other rooms.
    Location is excellent, in Gion, very near to the bus stops. You get to experience a traditional Japanese house.
    Dorte L.
    dk

    Review score

    3.8
    11 April 2018
    TOTALLY OVERPRICED! No cleaning, you pay for renting small towels, bad lightning in the rooms, everything is a bit worn-out and seedy, friendly staff, but they are only two, and they speak very poor English. YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO STAY AT THE PREMISES BETWEEN 11 AM AND 16 PM!!!They say that it is normal in Japan (no it's not), and that it is due to "cleaning". Well, there was a big, gooey, brown stain of some substance in the common fridge when we arrived, and when we left three days later, it was still there. I wont call the place dirty per se, but neglected and with stained walls - and a shower curtain with mold!!! You also have to make your own bed, and you are asked to unmake it when leaving (we didn't). The duves smelled, by the way. We paid 20,000 yen a night for a private room with bath for three - the same we paid for an APA hotel with all facilities and amenities in Hiroshima. Just don't!
    Good location, friendly staff.
    Phoebe
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    9 April 2018

    The location is great. 八坂神社, 祗園商店街 and 茶寮 within 10 min walk.

    Whoever-ch
    ch

    Review score

    10
    8 April 2018
    The staff was great. They were super friendly and did everything they could. The room was also very clean. I'm sure it's one of the best options in Mirador Mansion.
    Thomas
    au

    Review score

    4.6
    8 April 2018

    Not a good choice for couples.

    Ok where do I start?! The bed linen didn’t feel very clean to us but the bed itself was comfortable enough for the Japanese style bedding. This place would be perfect for backpackers on a budget and non picky (probably where all the high ratings come from) Our room was right above the “smokers area” which meant we kept getting wafts of smoke coming into the room. Out of no fault of the hotel, there was a lot of noise coming from the construction site right across the road that began at 8am sharp. Felt like the building was being brought down. Absolutely awful noise! The night we got there, the bathroom was absolutely disgusting with hairs all over the sink and floor (but to be fair this was cleaned up the next day) and neither my partner or myself wanted to use the showers at all! The kitchen is small and clean enough but I noticed the kettle wasn’t working properly because it didn’t auto shut off when it reached boiling so a complete fire hazard if someone put the kettle on and forgot to turn it off. Also the rules of the hotel are absolutely ridiculous. We had to make sure we were off the property between 11 am and 4pm for them to be able to clean. My partner was quite sick during our trip and the fact that we weren’t able to sleep in due to the noise and the fact that we had to leave the property for all those hours was enough to make us check out a day earlier than we should have and we forfeited the money.
    The girl that checked us in could speak a decent amount of English and she was very lovely and helpful. She even helped us get a taxi when we moved out of the property early and she did it with a smile. That’s about the only thing we liked about this place. It was also helpful that they had lots of spare umbrellas for us to use since it was raining the day of our stay.
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    20 March 2018
    lovely friendly staff. traditional Japanese house in gion. good common area with tatami mats. great place to stay if you want to get a feel for traditional place in kyoto. excellent location. stayed in the single room with shared bathroom, room was cozy. there is aircon in the room which also can be used for heating. hair dryer and tongs are also provided!
    Remy Buxo
    fr

    Review score

    10
    15 March 2018

    Amazing japannese expérience in an old typical house.

    The owner and the staff is amazing, friendly and really helpful. The guesthouse is a typical japannese house in wood. We loved this place. Moreover, located 2min walking distance from gion pittoresque streets and temples.
    Jack
    nz

    Review score

    8.8
    8 February 2018
    Traditional
    Mari
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    6 February 2018
    Because of the season we chose, it was really cold. However it had heaters, air conditions.
    We had a great time with my children. A great staff and a cute little doggie! The allocation of this accommodation is convenient to get transports. Just right next to Gion, Kiyomizu-dera, Yasaka shrine. Might see Maiko-San around. It was easy to access to dine out!
    Jack
    nz

    Review score

    4.6
    1 February 2018

    I’d have to say not the best place I’ve stayed at, a hostel would of been better warmer and quieter!

    That we paid we payed $119 a night and then had to pay another ¥100 for a towel!!! Which I’m sure wasn’t clean because once wet it smelt like an arm pit of an old man. The owner started up a power tool to cut wood panels at 7:30/8:00am right out side our window.
    The heat pump was good, the beds were comfortable.
    Margaret
    jp

    Review score

    9.2
    17 January 2018

    Comfortable and private. A short walk from the delightful area of Gion.

    We had a little trouble because we didn’t understand how to turn the hot water on as the instructions were all in Japanese and no information had explained to us beforehand. Also the towels given were very small which was fine but if you don’t like that I’d suggest bringing your own!
    au

    Review score

    4.6
    3 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    my

    Review score

    10
    4 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rudy
    hk

    Review score

    6.7
    30 November 2017

    Nice Guesthouse, Awful Staff and overpriced

    The guesthouse is cute, but if you are a man (we came as a couple with my girlfriend) do not expect any nice interaction with the person at the reception. The guy was nice to the girls staying in the girl's dorm, but awful to us. We first arrived around 11 am and were told to come back after 4 PM. We did then come back at 6 and the guy at the reception told us they were overbooked and gave the room to "the first guest that arrived" although we saw him and tried to check in 6 hours before.. He brought us to another guesthouse in a tiny room, which, we, of course, refused. After 10 minutes arguing, we actually figured out that our room in the initial guesthouse was available... except the other guests were coming the day after and they decided that they would give them the room... no need to say how angry we reacted, and we finally got our room after all these arguments and lies... Really not quite in line with the quiet and relaxing atmosphere of the place and the price we paid (more than 120 USD per night!). The day after, we came with 2 friends in the middle of the afternoon to sit a bit and organize our evening. When we arrived, he stopped them at the door and told them they could not get in, (although we booked a 5 person room and it was close to 0 degrees outside
    The room was nice, clean and basic. The hostel was cute and the heating was powerful. We booked the Japanese Style room for 5 person (although we were 2) and we do not really believe it would actually fit 5 person comfortably. Very cute place and well located.
    Christine
    fr

    Review score

    4.6
    18 November 2017

    We don't recommand this hotel.

    We stayed 5 nights and the cleaning was not done. We had to ask to get the trash emptied . No window and no light near the bed. We had to ask for a light About the kitchen, no towel for hands, no towel for dishes and the cleaning of this very small area is done only on sunday !
    The style of the house.
    au

    Review score

    10
    16 November 2017

    It's my 2nd time at the property and it's always a pleasure to stay here.

    Always a pleasure to stay at. Located in the heart of Gion and close to bus stops and subway stations.
    Dwight
    nl

    Review score

    9.2
    10 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Vidur
    my

    Review score

    8.8
    9 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mia
    se

    Review score

    2.9
    26 June 2017

    Bed bugs!

    There were bed bugs during our stay. We were full of bites after four nights. We should have stayed for three more nights but decided to move to a different hotel instead. We didn't get our money back for the three nights we didn't sleep there. The staff member we spoke to wasn't surprised when we showed him a dead bed bug. Apart from that you should be aware that some walls are made of paper and you hear your neighbors really well and they hear you.
Loading reviews