This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.4 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.6
Comfort
7.9
Property location
8.9
Facilities
8.1
Staff
8.8
Value
8.0
Reviews
    Jack
    nz
    8.8
    8 February 2018
    Traditional
    Mari
    au
    9.2
    6 February 2018
    Because of the season we chose, it was really cold. However it had heaters, air conditions.
    We had a great time with my children. A great staff and a cute little doggie! The allocation of this accommodation is convenient to get transports. Just right next to Gion, Kiyomizu-dera, Yasaka shrine. Might see Maiko-San around. It was easy to access to dine out!
    Jack
    nz
    4.6
    1 February 2018
    I’d have to say not the best place I’ve stayed at, a hostel would of been better warmer and quieter!
    That we paid we payed $119 a night and then had to pay another ¥100 for a towel!!! Which I’m sure wasn’t clean because once wet it smelt like an arm pit of an old man. The owner started up a power tool to cut wood panels at 7:30/8:00am right out side our window.
    The heat pump was good, the beds were comfortable.
    Margaret
    jp
    9.2
    17 January 2018
    Comfortable and private. A short walk from the delightful area of Gion.
    We had a little trouble because we didn’t understand how to turn the hot water on as the instructions were all in Japanese and no information had explained to us beforehand. Also the towels given were very small which was fine but if you don’t like that I’d suggest bringing your own!
    au
    4.6
    3 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    my
    10
    4 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rudy
    hk
    6.7
    30 November 2017
    Nice Guesthouse, Awful Staff and overpriced
    The guesthouse is cute, but if you are a man (we came as a couple with my girlfriend) do not expect any nice interaction with the person at the reception. The guy was nice to the girls staying in the girl's dorm, but awful to us. We first arrived around 11 am and were told to come back after 4 PM. We did then come back at 6 and the guy at the reception told us they were overbooked and gave the room to "the first guest that arrived" although we saw him and tried to check in 6 hours before.. He brought us to another guesthouse in a tiny room, which, we, of course, refused. After 10 minutes arguing, we actually figured out that our room in the initial guesthouse was available... except the other guests were coming the day after and they decided that they would give them the room... no need to say how angry we reacted, and we finally got our room after all these arguments and lies... Really not quite in line with the quiet and relaxing atmosphere of the place and the price we paid (more than 120 USD per night!). The day after, we came with 2 friends in the middle of the afternoon to sit a bit and organize our evening. When we arrived, he stopped them at the door and told them they could not get in, (although we booked a 5 person room and it was close to 0 degrees outside
    The room was nice, clean and basic. The hostel was cute and the heating was powerful. We booked the Japanese Style room for 5 person (although we were 2) and we do not really believe it would actually fit 5 person comfortably. Very cute place and well located.
    Christine
    fr
    4.6
    18 November 2017
    We don't recommand this hotel.
    We stayed 5 nights and the cleaning was not done. We had to ask to get the trash emptied . No window and no light near the bed. We had to ask for a light About the kitchen, no towel for hands, no towel for dishes and the cleaning of this very small area is done only on sunday !
    The style of the house.
    au
    10
    16 November 2017
    It's my 2nd time at the property and it's always a pleasure to stay here.
    Always a pleasure to stay at. Located in the heart of Gion and close to bus stops and subway stations.
    Dwight
    nl
    9.2
    10 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Vidur
    sg
    8.8
    9 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mia
    se
    2.9
    26 June 2017
    Bed bugs!
    There were bed bugs during our stay. We were full of bites after four nights. We should have stayed for three more nights but decided to move to a different hotel instead. We didn't get our money back for the three nights we didn't sleep there. The staff member we spoke to wasn't surprised when we showed him a dead bed bug. Apart from that you should be aware that some walls are made of paper and you hear your neighbors really well and they hear you.
    Sarah
    au
    10
    23 June 2017
    Perfect location to explore & enjoy Gion & Higashiyama Area!!!!
    Panda8
    gb
    8.3
    18 June 2017
    Great stay in Kyoto!
    Noise level, not recommend to stay here if you are a light sleeper. The old style walls are so thin you could hear everything. I knew that before so it's ok but still find it hard to sleep though I'm not a light sleeper. Just bring your ear plugs :)
    Excellent location, convenient walking distance to Gion area. Beautiful old style houses nearby. The host was very friendly though not speak much English. Very good value for money :)
    Sonja
    de
    9.0
    13 June 2017
    Chunhong is greeting you with friendlyness and is very helpfull. The guesthouse is a traditionl house with the traditional thin walls, located in the heart of Gion. Convenie shop, bus stop etc. are just a few minutes by foot away. It was a very enjoyable, interesting stay for me. I would stay there again.
    G.J.G.A. Hendriks
    nl
    7.1
    23 May 2017
    In the Middle of Gion
    The rule of not being allowed in the house between 11 and 4 is very inconvienient. The room behind the desk had a very strange smell. There is no terrace, only a small garden where you cannot sit in .
    Nice experience, typical Japanse house and nice common room. Great location and a lot of things to do just around the corner.
    ca
    9.6
    23 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Haze
    hk
    10
    22 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sophie
    jp
    10
    22 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    PORNPUNSA
    th
    10
    19 May 2017
    Great night staying in Kyoto :)
    N/A
    Japanese style room with frienly owner. We can get there easily by getting the bus No.206 from Kyoto station. All great!!
Loading reviews
Close